Google Messages could soon block itself from being displayed while screen sharing،
Google Messages is testing a new security feature that prevents users from accessing the app when it detects screen sharing. This helps prevent fraudsters from spying on private conversations and security codes. Some people worry that this feature could backfire by preventing legitimate use cases.
However, some people are concerned that this new feature could backfire by preventing legitimate use cases. For example, if a user tries to share their screen with a friend or colleague, their access to Google Messages may be blocked.
Credit – TheSPAndroid
In this deployment, which appears to be limited to a small number of users (possibly as an a/b test), what appears when trying to share your screen while the Google Messages app is open is a window pop-up saying “You are sharing your screen with someone. If you don’t know this person, stop sharing immediately. Google has hidden your sensitive content for security reasons. Meanwhile, while the app continues to work in background and notifications continue to arrive, the rest of the app is hidden and the pop-up cannot be closed while you are still screen sharing.
However, in its current state, it does not appear that the feature’s implementation has been fully tested in all possible scenarios. For example, TheSPAndroid noted in its post that when receiving a Messages notification, one could still tap the notification and view the message, even while screen sharing. Of course, that would defeat the whole problem.